## North Carolina Conference of Clerks of Superior Court 2024-2025 Officers Sworn In



From NCAOC Communications Office < NCAOCCommunications Office@info.nccourts.org>

To <sjohnston@tuesdayforumcharlotte.org>

**Date** 2024-08-27 15:15

North Carolina Conference of Clerks of Superior Court 2024-2025 Officers Sworn In



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 27, 2024

### North Carolina Conference of Clerks of Superior Court 2024-2025 Officers Sworn In

Iredell County Clerk of Superior Court James (Jim) Lee Mixson III installed as the new president for 2024-2025.

RALEIGH — The N.C. Conference of Clerks of Superior Court (NCCCSC) recently held its annual summer educational conference in Haywood County at The Waynesville Inn and Golf Club. Executive officers for the 2024-25 year were sworn in by Supreme Court Associate



<u>Justice Trey Allen</u> during a banquet ceremony. <u>North Carolina Administrative</u> <u>Office of the Courts (NCAOC)</u> Director Ryan Boyce presented annual awards to clerks.



Iredell County Clerk of Superior Court James (Jim)
Lee Mixson III was installed as the new president of
the NCCCSC for 2024-25. Clerk Mixson has been
active in the conference and NCAOC since his tenure
as Clerk of Superior Court began in 2012. He has
served on numerous committees for the Judicial
Branch and the Conference, including chairing the
clerks training committee as well as a continuous
member on the North Carolina Sentencing and Policy
Advisory Commission and the UNC School of
Government's Judicial College Advisory Committee.
He is eager to carry forward the momentum at the

legislature and positive relationships built with the Judicial Branch leadership through the transition of eCourts across North Carolina. *Pictured left: Senior Resident Superior Court Judge Joseph Crosswhite (left) and incoming President Jim Mixson (Iredell County, middle) is sworn into office by Justice Trey Allen (right).* 

Justice Allen administered the oath of office to additional officers who include: Columbus County Clerk of Superior Court Jess Hill (right) as first vice president, Lee County Clerk of Superior Court Deborah (Susie) Thomas (middle right) as second vice president, Guilford County Clerk of Superior Court Lisa Johnson-Tonkins (middle left) as secretary, and



Montgomery County Clerk of Superior Court John Deaton (far left) as treasurer. Pictured right: Justice Trey Allen (far right) administers oath of office to Conference of Clerks officers.

"Our motto is to serve clerks, unify efforts, and improve justice," said NCCCSC Executive Director Jamie Liles. "We are excited to begin a new year of leadership and build on past accomplishments of our previous presidents who were in attendance at the banquet in Waynesville."

As incoming President, Clerk Mixson selected an executive committee made up of clerks who represent counties varying in size. The 2024-25 executive committee members include: Richmond County Clerk Vickie Daniel, Chatham County Clerk Dana Hackney, Watauga County Clerk Charles Haynes, Orange County Clerk Mark Kleinschmidt, Robeson County Clerk Shelena Smith, Union County Clerk Wendy Maynard, and Dare County Clerk Dean Tolson. The executive committee meets monthly and discusses business as it relates to the clerk's office, the court system, county-related issues, and the Conference.

#### **Awards**



The **President's Award** was presented to Ashe County Clerk Pam Barlow. This award was established to recognize a clerk who has unselfishly given themselves to their work. This elected clerk is always there to host a regional, call a legislator, or be on a committee when needed even after a year as president. *Pictured left: Ashe County CSC Pam Barlow thanking everyone for her award with NCAOC Director Ryan Boyce.* 

# The "Boots on the Ground" Award for Perseverance, Dedication to the Cause and

**Grit** was given to the clerks who have stayed tireless hours at the legislature this year: Columbus County Clerk Jess Hill and Halifax County Clerk Rebecca (Becky) Spragins. These clerks deserve much praise and thanks for their hard work and coordinating clerks when downtown on Jones Street. *Pictured right: Columbus County CSC Jess Hill (left) and Halifax County CSC Becky Spragins (right) receiving their award from Director Boyce (middle).* 





Additionally, Edgecombe County Clerk Carol Allen White was presented an award for her 30 years of elected service to the State of North Carolina. Pictured left: Edgecombe County CSC Carol Allen White (middle) and her husband (right) being presented her award from Director Boyce (left).

#### The Rachel Joyner Award was

presented to Martin County Clerk Tonya Leggett. This award is named after longserving Nash County Clerk of Court Rachel Joyner who retired after an extraordinary 65 years of service in the clerk's office. This award represents and embodies the spirit of the work of the



clerk of court. Nominations are submitted and voted on by peers and can be given to anyone who advances the role of the clerk in the court system. When the conference needed someone to step into leadership after a string of retirements, Clerk Leggett agreed to jump into the line of incoming presidents as well as chairing the rules of recordkeeping committee for the NCAOC. *Pictured right: Martin County CSC Tonya Leggett thanking clerks for the honor.* 

#### **About Conference of Clerks of Superior Court**

The Conference of Clerks of Superior Court was created in 2006 by the N.C. General Assembly to improve the administration of justice in North Carolina. The Conference, consisting of 100 elected clerks from across the state and supported by administrative staff, works to improve public accessibility to the courts through the clerk of superior court, serve as a resource for the clerks in key areas of court administration, and to act as a liaison on behalf of all elected clerks of superior court to governmental and non-governmental stakeholders.

###

#### **About North Carolina Judicial Branch**

The North Carolina Judicial Branch is an equal and distinctively separate branch and core function of government. More than 7,400 Judicial Branch employees statewide administer justice in courthouses in North Carolina's 100 counties. The Judicial Branch budget for FY 2022–23 was \$712.8M, 87% of which is used to pay salaries and 11.5% is used for operations. The Judicial Branch receives 2.64% of the overall State budget.

#### **About North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts**

The North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts (NCAOC) is the administrative agency for the North Carolina Judicial Branch, providing administrative services to help the North Carolina court system operate more efficiently and effectively, taking into account each courthouse's diverse needs, caseloads, and available resources.

#### **Media Contact**

NCCCSC Executive Director Jamie Liles



North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts 901 Corporate Center Drive, Raleigh, NC 27607 919-890-1000 | www.NCcourts.gov  $\underline{\textbf{Unsubscribe}} \text{ to be removed from future messages. For media questions, please contact } \underline{\textbf{CommunicationsOffice@nccourts.org.}}$ 







