

Click to view all folders 😸

16-12 Grants Committee
20-05 (13)
20-06 (6)
20-07 (17)
20-08 (9)
20-09 (25)
20-10 (28)
20-10 I Am Voting Becaus
<b>20-11</b> (52)
2020 Reimagining

Manage Folders...



## CONGRESSIONAL BLACK CAUCUS

## CONTACT:

**Caren Street, Executive Director** 

<u>C: 202.320.7994</u>

E: Caren.Street@mail.house.gov

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

## THE CONGRESSIONAL BLACK CAUCUS ELECTS EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE FOR THE 117TH CONGRESS

Washington, D.C. – The Chair of the Congressional Black Caucus, Rep. Karen Bass, issued the statement below following the election of the Executive Committee for the 117<sup>th</sup> Congress by acclamation:

"On behalf of the entire Congressional Black Caucus, congratulations to the members of the Executive Committee for the 117<sup>th</sup> Congress!

In 1971, thirteen Black Members of Congress organized their efforts to help improve the conditions of Black people in America and around the world. Though small in numbers, the founders of the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) understood their responsibility for the millions of voices they represented. That responsibility drove them to speak up and speak out against injustice wherever they found it – from Apartheid in South Africa to voter suppression, economic oppression, racial violence across the country. Next year marks 50 years for the CBC - 50 years as a champion for bold, progressive ideas in Congress; 50 years of making a seat at the table and building a pipeline for those to come; and 50 years as the "Conscience of the Congress."

Under the leadership of Chair-elect Joyce Beatty, the Caucus will enjoy its largest membership in history, with a record 57 Members forming a body as diverse as the nation. After four years under one of the most racist and repressive regimes in modern history, the CBC has an enormous opportunity under the Biden-Harris Administration to restore faith in our democracy and show Black Americans the power of their vote. We look forward to the work ahead on behalf of Black America."

Rep. Joyce Beatty will serve as Chair of the Congressional Black Caucus. Rep. Beatty represents Ohio's 3rd district and currently serves on the exclusive House Committee on Financial Services where she chairs the Subcommittee on Diversity and Inclusion.

Rep. Steven Horsford will serve as 1st Vice-Chair of the Congressional Black Caucus. Rep. Horsford represents Nevada's 4th district and currently serves on the House Ways and Means Committee, Budget Committee, and Natural Resources Committee.

Rep. Brenda Lawrence will serve as 2nd Vice-Chair of the Congressional Black Caucus. Rep. Lawrence represents Michigan's 14th district and currently serves on the House Appropriations Committee and the Oversight and Reform Committee.

Rep. Frederica Wilson will serve as Secretary of the Congressional Black Caucus. Rep. Wilson represents Florida's 24th district and currently serves on the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, as well as the House Education and Labor Committee, where she chairs the Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Subcommittee.

Rep. Hank Johnson will serve as Whip of the Congressional Black Caucus. Rep. Johnson represents Georgia's 4th district and currently serves on the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, as well as the House Judiciary Committee, where he chairs the Subcommittee on Courts, Intellectual Property, and the Internet.

Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee will serve as Parliamentarian of the Congressional Black Caucus. Rep. Jackson Lee represents Texas's 18th district and currently serves on the House Judiciary Committee, Homeland Security Committee, and the Budget Committee.

<u>###</u> 2059 RAYBURN HOUSE OFFICE BUILDING • WASHINGTON, DC 20515 <u>cbc.house.gov</u>

This email was sent to <u>sjohnston@tuesdayforumcharlotte.org</u> <u>why did I get this?</u> <u>unsubscribe from this list</u> <u>update subscription preferences</u> Congressional Black Caucus · 2059 Rayburn House Office Building · Washington, DC 20515-0001 · USA

